I Took a Long Walk through the South

In 2003, I left Denver, Colorado aboard a Greyhound Bus to Pensacola, Florida and when I got there I spent the night beneath a Billboard and early the next morning I walked to Mobile, Alabama and I got a ride by a Trucker near the Train Rail Yards to his place and he gave me some leftover Popeye’s Chicken and a Fountain Coke and then we went a few miles down the Road to a Restaurant Bar and he bought me a Coke and we said good-bye and I walked to Birmingham and a nearby Truck Stop and a nice church lady gave me the day’s reading of the Daily Bread, a Christian Pamphlet and I spent the night, the next day I got a ride to a Truck Stop near Macon, Georgia by three black guys and threy gave me $5.00, I had Wendy’s and then spent the night getting up early the next and making it to North Augusta and then speaking to a Police Officer there at an abandoned gas station.

Leave a Reply

